## Welcome to the

# Auditorium Chamber Music Series

The mission of the Auditorium Chamber Music Series is to bring outstanding performances of a wide variety of chamber music to the region and to offer highquality musical experiences and education.

## 2024-2025 Season

Boston Brass – September 12, 2024 Anthony McGill and Gloria Chien – December 6, 2024 Parker Quartet – January 24, 2025 Sandbox Percussion – March 6, 2025

### **ACMS** Team

Eneida Larti, Director Navin Chettri, Manager Monica Evans, Music Events Operations Coordinator

> For more information on ACMS, visit: <u>www.uidaho.edu/acms</u>



## **Sandbox Percussion**

Ian Rosenbaum Johnny Allen Terry Sweeney Victor Caccese

Bell Patterns	Victor Caccese
	(b. 1989)
Pillar III	Andy Akiho
	(b. 1979)
Bloom I	Michael Torke
	(b. 1961)
Morning	
Noon	
Stem 1	
Night	

#### INTERMISSION

Point Reyes	David Crowell (b.1980)
Bloom III	Michael Torke
	(b. 1961)
Morning	
Noon	
Stem 2	
Night	
Pillar V	Andy Akiho
	(b. 1979)

#### ABOUT SANDBOX PERCUSSION

Described as "exhilarating" by The New York Times and "utterly mesmerizing" by The Guardian, the GRAMMY®-nominated ensemble Sandbox Percussion champions living composers through its unwavering dedication to contemporary chamber music. In 2011, Jonathan Allen, Victor Caccese, Ian Rosenbaum, and Terry Sweeney were brought together by their love of chamber music and the simple joy of playing together; they have since captivated audiences with performances that are both visually and aurally stunning. In 2024, Sandbox Percussion became the first percussion ensemble to be awarded the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant.

The 2021 album Seven Pillars, featuring Andy Akiho's title piece, was nominated for two GRAMMY® awards. Following performances throughout the United States and Europe, Sandbox Percussion performs Seven Pillars in October at the Beijing Music Festival. They will also perform the piece at select dates throughout the 2024-25 season.

This season, Sandbox Percussion and the Tyshawn Sorey Trio collaborate on a special Max Roach tribute with live performances that include the 92nd Street Y and the Library of Congress. Together, the two groups explore the extraordinary legacy of jazz pioneer Max Roach, who was born 100 years ago.

Sandbox Percussion recently teamed up with composer Michael Torke, who created the hour-long piece BLOOM for the group. The world premiere of BLOOM will take place in December at Tishman Auditorium, at The New School, New York City, following the album release in August, via Ecstatic Records. In October, Sandbox Percussion performs at Boston's Institute of Contemporary Art, collaborating with the London-based Gandini Juggling. Over the season, Sandbox Percussion will also perform music by Viet Cuong, Julius Eastman, Gabriel Kahane, Gabriella Smith, Paola Prestini, and Doug Cuomo.

Sandbox Percussion recently recorded percussion music for its first feature film: The Wild Robot (DreamWorks, 2024), an animated science fiction survival film with music by Kris Bowers. The first recording of Lifeline, a vibrant percussion quartet composed by Ellis Ludwig-Leone for Sandbox Percussion will be released on the album Past Life / Lifeline in December on Better Company Records. A new album celebrating the group's long-standing collaboration with Christopher Cerrone will be released in February on PENTATONE Records, including the piece Ode To Joy, co-commissioned by the group in 2023.

Sandbox Percussion holds the positions of ensemble-in-residence and percussion faculty at the University of Missouri-Kansas City and The New School's College of Performing Arts. Starting in 2024-25, Sandbox Percussion will also be on faculty at the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University.

Sandbox Percussion endorses Pearl/Adams musical instruments, Zildjian cymbals, Vic Firth sticks and mallets, Remo drumheads, and Black Swamp accessories.

#### A message from the ACMS Director:

We extend our heartfelt appreciation to our donors, sponsors, and audience members for their generous support. Your contributions have ensured that the Auditorium Chamber Music Series could bring exceptional music to our community.

A special thank you goes to **Ann Marie and Robert McGee** for their continued support of the **ACMS concerts, workshops,** and **masterclasses.** Their generosity has made a lasting impact on our community, helping to nurture the next generation of musicians.

#### **Distinguished ACMS Donors**

(Lifetime donations of \$60,000+)

Ann Marie & Robert McGee Janet Lecompte, *In Memoriam* Bill Voxman and Joanne Reece Jo Ellen Force

This program also recognizes donors who contributed to the ACMS during the 2023-2024 season and up to November 2024. Your donations made possible an incredible lineup of artists for the 2024-2025 season. We are deeply grateful for your continued support.

#### ACMS Season Sponsor (\$25,000)

Jo Ellen Force - in memory of Ron Force

ACMS Concert Sponsors (\$5,000-\$9,999)

Dale Moore William Sischo Ellen Thiem

#### ACMS Artists' Circle (\$2,500-\$4,999)

Bill Voxman and Joanne Reece Mary Jo and Joel Hamilton

#### ACMS Chamber Circle (\$1,000-\$2,499)

Willy Brandal Ruth Funabiki Mary DuPree and Mark Hume Kent Nelson Kay and George Simmons

#### ACMS Patrons' Circle (\$750-\$999)

Jay Mauchley Bruce and Rebecca Miller Gerri Sayler and Kenton Bird

#### ACMS Sustainers (\$500-\$749)

Janice Boughton and Mac Cantrell Janet and Duane DeTemple Giselle Hillyer and Roger McVey Jan and John Keller JoElla and Philip Kleffner Suzanne Kurtz Eneida Larti and Sam Welsh Lucille and Stanton Linden

Martha and John McIver Miranda Wilson and Sean Butterfield

#### ACMS Benefactors (\$250-\$499) Janet and Alton Campbell

#### ACMS Benefactors (\$250-\$499) cont.

The Schreck Family Foundation Karen Trujillo and Donald Burnett Linda Wharton William Wharton (*In memoriam*)

#### ACMS Supporters (\$100-\$249)

James and Eugenia Casey Sid and Renee Eder Kerrin M. McMahan Cathy and Jack Porter Teodora and Joseph Proud Joyce and Nels Reese Shannon Scott and Leonard Garrison Barbara Wells

#### Friends of ACMS (\$25-\$99)

Katherine Aiken and Joseph Schwartz Betta Bunzel Susan and Thomas Hess Roger and Genevieve Long Virginia Snyder Mark and Sheila Yama Kay and Lynn Youngblood

If your name is missing or you would like to discuss giving opportunities, please email <u>chmusic@uidaho.edu</u>

# Coming next season: Thursday, September 25, 2025 LYYRA

www.lyyramusic.com

GROUNDED IN TRADITION | BREAKING NEW GROUND







FEATURING: JASON MARSALIS





JEFF HAMILTON TRIO









TICKETS AT www.uitickets.com OR Pitman Center Box Office LEARN MORE AT www.uidaho.edu/jazz



The Auditorium Chamber Music Series is funded by individual donations, ticket sales, in-kind support, and contributions from these major sponsors:







# **Creative West**

This programming/project is supported in part by Creative West and the National Endowment for the Arts.

www.uidaho.edu/acms